Spice fruit loaf

The last baking sensation I experienced before packing my rolling pin away was a spiced fruit loaf. I used a bread recipe I have had for many years and added ground cinnamon, grated nutmeg, diced apricots, currants and slivered almonds and a glaze. The aroma of the spiced bread through the house was comforting like being wrapped in a quilt lounging with a good book on a rainy day. The above ingredients were not measured, I have a habit of being a bit freehand with my cooking, pretty much to my taste and smell. However the basic bread recipe I did follow. Over the years I have substituted wholemeal and white bread flour in different ratios as well as following it to the tee. I would love to hear if anyone tries it and their spin on it.

11/4 Cup of warm water

2 tsp dried yeast

1 tsp castor sugar

3 cups plain flour

2 tsps bread improver

1 tsp salt

30gms butter, chopped

Combine water, yeast and sugar, set aside until it gets frothy. Rub flour and butter together to get a crumb texture then add bread improver and salt. (add cinnamon, nutmeg and dried fruits). Make a well in the centre and add yeast mixture stir. Once it comes together knead dough until smooth. Set aside to rise. Once risen punch down knead for a short time and shape. preheat oven to 220 degrees celcius. Place on a lined tray cover with damp tea towel and let rise again. Once risen, place slivered almonds on top, I dig them in a little so they don’t slide off. Then glaze (whisked egg and a touch of milk) and bake.

Perfect with a mug of Imagehot chocolate!

About nicolesr

Food and books, reading, cooking and eating are my favourite things besides my cats and dog of course. I love going for an early morning or evening walk, and I love nature. I am currently studying through OUA, which I thoroughly enjoy, even though it can be difficult.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spice fruit loaf

  1. mydearbakes says:

    I’m gushing over this! Great bakes you have there! =)

Leave a Reply

