Celebrating being in a place of our own

Well to say it has been a while since my last blog is a gross understatement. having been in transit for just over a year, my partner and I have finally moved into a place of our own. It feels great to have all my cookware and books around me instead of them all being in a far off place called “storage”.

I have cooked a few dishes since I moved in a few weeks ago but failed to take photos of most of them. I have read a lot of books in the past year as well. So I will slowly have to update my blog with what I can pull from my memory.

Yesterday was a complete domestic day. After a few hours of study I went into the front garden and planted bulbs for the first time in my life. Then into the kitchen to bake scones, lemonade scones to be exact. They were the lightest, fluffiest scones I have ever eaten. You could say I am biased, well yes I am, but my husband ate four in a row and obviously loved them. So here is the recipe

Lemonade scones

3 cups of self-raising flour

1 cup of cream (I used thickened as it was what I had on hand)

1 cup of lemonade

1 pinch of salt

Mix all ingredients together lightly with a knife. (don’t mix too much or you will have hard scones, just pull it together lightly). Then tip onto a floured surface and ever so lightly and gently knead (I just pushed it around a few times), gently flatten out with hands until around 3cm, grab scone cutter or something of similar shape and size (ensure you keep dipping in flour) and cut out. combine all the bits & bobs of dough left and flatten and cut until you have used all your dough. place in a preheated oven at 180 degrees Celsius and in around twenty minutes light fluffy delicious scones will emerge.

About nicolesr

Food and books, reading, cooking and eating are my favourite things besides my cats and dog of course. I love going for an early morning or evening walk, and I love nature. I am currently studying through OUA, which I thoroughly enjoy, even though it can be difficult.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

